Forums are back in action! ×

Bonjour from a galaxy far, far away...

Hi there !

My name is Melanie, I'm a new Rebel from France :) I signed up a couple of weeks ago but went into classic shy mode and didn't post right away... better late than never ! 

English is not my mother tongue but I really love it and try to practice it as often as I can. Please point out to me any expression that might not make sense, so I can get better at speaking it - another way of leveling up !

I'm brand new to fitness, massively fat (morbidly overweight to be technical) but definitely willing to change.

Right now I work in a very little town near the German border, for a small non-profit organization that provides cultural and leisure activities. I gives me time in the morning to exercise, with a few rush of activities a year that take me away (summer camps or ski holidays with the kids). 

My long term goal is to get my BMI under 25 : it's now at 43,3. That means losing at least 110 pounds (or more than 50 kilos)

The battle plan is to clean up my diet and get strong. I worked with a nutritionnist that gave me a 1500 calories/day diet wich is kinda hard to make because i'm not yet used to cooking and preparing meals in advance, but I've read a lot about paleo and I think it will definitely help me go in the right direction. 

This afternoon I'm going to go get dumbbells. I don't know which weight to start with, I guess a little more reading has to be done (if anybody's got a suggestion, I'm interested  :offended: ). I've also inquired about the boxing clubs near my hometown : I feel like I need to learn how to fight. 

As stated above, I'm a little shy, so the idea of training in a gym, in the state I'm in, was totally unthinkable. When I stumbled upon Nerdfitness, I was like, "Wow. This is it. This is exactly what I need."

And of course, I'm a nerd as well. My Frodo plush toy is sitting right next to the computer as I'm writing this XD