Forums are back in action! ×

Time to see what this place is all about.

I'll start out by saying that I'm not a fitness noob, but I am a noob to these forums, so hello! I'll also make note that it's entirely Staci's fault I'm posting here. :tongue: She talks about this place all the time (all good things!), so I figured it was about time I checked it out.

Here's the short version of my story. I've been doing CrossFit for about a year and a half now. Most recently I had the honor of competing alongside Staci and 4 other equally fantastic athletes to represent our gym at the 2012 Northeast Regionals. We came in 23rd place, and considering it was our first team effort at Regionals, I'm proud of us all.

It was a pretty long journey to get to this point. I'd always been an athletic kid - did the varsity soccer thing in high school - but never got terribly serious about anything. I gained the inevitable "Freshman 15" at college (though it was probably closer to 30lb). I managed to lose it and thought I wouldn't let myself get that bad again. I spent the rest of my 20s never being terribly stable with my weight. At my lightest I was probably about 115lb. I was doing yoga, and while I was incredibly flexible, I was very weak. It wasn't healthy.