Forums are back in action! ×

Credit Cards

MaChao

So this is kind of a weird question, but I'm looking for a credit card to build up credit with, just small purchases mostly. I'm a college student and it is always nice to have good credit, so why not build it up now. I'm curious if anyone has any good recommendations of a provider that will offer good benefits, mostly frequent flyer miles , as I would love to be able to travel more ,and airlines are expensive.

Unless you are already a relatively frequent traveler, airline cards are mostly a big waste of time and money (and I say this as someone whose primary CC is an airline card).

For a first CC to build up credit with, you want something with 1) no annual fee, and 2) cash back*.  I usually recommend either the American Express Blue Cash or the Capital One Cash Rewards.  Just save up the rewards, and if you want to use them to travel, you can!  If you want to use them for something else, you can do that too!

When you see Steve (and others) talk about seeing the world on the cheap via credit card miles, they are almost always talking about churning signup bonuses and promotions to accumulate large portions of miles.  Doing so requires established credit and the ability to meet spend requirements.  Certainly something to shoot for in the future, but for a first card, it's hard to beat a plain vanilla cash back card. 

(Edit to add: KG has a good point - all of my advice is US centric).

*I intentionally did not list the interest rate as a criteria for choosing a card.  I personally hold the opinion that if you aren't financially responsible enough to pay your card off in full every month, then you shouldn't be getting a credit card in the first place.  No amount of miles or cash back rewards is worth paying 25% interest for.

Amazon Rewards credit card!