Forums are back in action! ×

Press Start to Play

Hey everyone, 

It's nice to meet you all.

My name is Tyler, I'm a 20 year old student out of the Central Wisconsin area. I've followed Nerd Fitness for a while, I signed up for the mailing list and I've read all the emails I've gotten, but joining the community here and putting some real hard work into my health is a recent decision. Let's see, where should I really begin? 

Well, when I was younger, I never really fit in. I was always much more the type to enjoy reading or playing pretend than football or tag. When I got a little older, I started finding out just how much I loved video games and that became my primary hobby. So, while most of my peers were talking about whatever was popular at the time, I was talking about Final Fantasy, Legend of Dragoon, or the Redwall books. I shied away from most physical activity when I was younger because I wasn't really any good at it and the other kids made fun of me. Fast forward a decade and you have me as of January, overweight at 279 pounds, unhappy, and not sure what to do about it all.

I started this whole journey of getting healthier by watching what I eat, amount especially. I started tracking my calories and limiting my intake of the stuff I knew was really bad for me. I cut soda out almost completely, to this day I don't really drink soda anymore. By just watching what I was putting in, I lost 30 pounds, but that's been about my loss for the last month or so. This is why I'm starting to get serious and why I'm joining the community. I've decided that I'm not okay with being complacent about my body. Tuesday morning I did the Beginner Body Weight Circuit for the first time, as of writing this, all of the muscles in my legs still hurt from it. It's pretty awesome, actually. I'm not sure how I'm going to do it tomorrow morning, but I won't back down from a good challenge.

Let's get into the nitty gritty of me.