Forums are back in action! ×

New job, no longer sick, so time for a new lifestyle!

Hi! I'm Fedaykin, 25 year old, 155 lbs, 5'2" female looking to get fit and stay fit. I work retail and was promoted this week to Guest Service Team Leader (aka manager of cashiers). I figured this was the perfect time to kick off a new, healthier, happier lifestyle!

My hobbies: I live in the Pacific Northwest, so I love the outdoorsy activities -  swimming, biking, hiking, etc. I also love reading, mostly scifi and fantasy novels. Of course, my favorite book is Dune by Frank Herbert.

My history of fitness: I was always an active child; I loved playing outside just as much as staying in and reading books. Throughout my K-12 school years, I played sports (competitive swim team and track & field) and stayed strong. I did little/no exercise during my years at university and after I graduated. I live 5 minutes from a paved footpath that is used by walkers/runners/bikers/equestrians and the last few years I've been leisurely biking there every week during the summer.

My history of weight loss: I was always an overweight child despite the activities I did. Eventually, things got out of control and I was 175 lbs in July 2016. Looking at pictures of myself at my cousin's wedding and realizing how poorly I fit into my clothing sparked something in me. That, in addition to a stressful new relationship, caused me to lose 20 lbs by December 2016  pretty much by stressing and not eating. I felt much better physically and mentally but I know I didn't go about the weight loss in the right way. I've maintained since then.