Forums are back in action! ×

any gardeners out there??

allirep

any NFers out there garden?? i just started my very first herb garden.  it is an adventure that may go horribly wrong.  we shall see.  just wanted to see if there are any others out there. wasn't sure where to start a thread (if there is interest in further discussion).

if anyone out there is an organic garden/farming type - any suggestions for a complete noob on how to get rid of ants?  they are everywhere.  not fire ants.  just regular type. i really don't want to use any pesticides as i plant to put these plants in my food and on my family's dinner table.

Introspective Bookworm (Lvl 6)STR 8.5 | DEX 10 | STA 11 | CON 13 | WIS 15 | CHA 11Look, I... I may not be an explorer, or an adventurer, or a treasure-seeker, or a gunfighter, Mr. O'Connell, but I am proud of what I am. I... am a librarian. (Rachel Weiss, The Mummy)Intro/Current Challenge | Fitocracy | MFP 

I have some experience in agricultrue (mainly raising livestock, but some with planting) and I'm hoping to start a little garden next year when I'm out of the dorms. I haven't used this technique myself, but a friend of mine said it worked for her; dilute bleach in water and spray it around the area where you are getting ants, just be sure not to get it on the actual plants, since it'll kill them, too.

Level 1 Pixie Adventurer

Strength: II

Dexterity: III

Stamina: III

Constitution: II

Wisdom: II

Charisma: II

Ants don't like cinnamon. We had some indoors a few years ago, located their entry hole and sprinkled some cinnamon in there. They never came back. :) You can try and sprinkle some around your beds. 

This! I had an ants invasion a few years ago, cinnamon made them flee in a few day. It's not toxic, actually smells good and won't kill anything. Perfect solution in my book. :)

Nuala, level 13 Robot mistress of pain, Assassin Guild leader

First journey: The Rise and fall of an Assassin