Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a bit new to civilized life

I'm 17, and I live in West Virginia.  I used to live deep in the mountains with my family, my home being far away from any kind of civilisation.  I never went to school, and my only source of education were the few books we had lying around.  I taught myself to read and write from the Bible, Moby Dick, and Of Mice and Men.  The hillbilly lifestyle is a very active one, and I was in better shape than most people could ever dream about.  We took a lot of inspiration from the American Indians, and so we used a great many of their methods and told a lot of their tales.  

When I was 15 the law came and took me and my siblings away from our people, separated us and put us into foster care.  The loss of my home and family caused me to have severe depression, which I cope with even today.  I am lucky to have found my way into a good home, with good people, who encourage me to excel academically (I'm at the top of my junior class).  But, my lifestyle since leaving home has been less than healthy; my muscles have deteriorated, and I've put on quite a bit of weight.  I hope to get back into shape soon.  

An Indian story that I've been thinking about lately: An Indian youth was disappointed in his lack of strength, believing his weakness to displease the spirits.  So he begs the spirits to give him great strength.  The spirits tell him to climb to the top of the mountain, and he will find a boulder there.  The told him that they would grant him the strength he desires if he can push the boulder off of the mountain.  So every day for like, a year, he climbs the mountain, and pushes with everything he has to try to dislodge the boulder.  Then one day he cries to the spirits, "I cannot dislodge the boulder, why have you given me such an impossible task?"  To which the spirits reply, "But in pushing the boulder, you have given yourself great strength."

• Like 3