Forums are back in action! ×

Five weeks ago we started a six-week walking program at work. (I'm a programmer, so I generally sit at a desk all day long.) I've gained back 30 or so of the pounds I lost last summer, and have been feeling crummy and like I needed to do SOMETHING about my weight for a while, so this program at work was the spark I needed to actually get off the couch. I knew that I needed to eat better, and I'd researched Paleo a while back, but I felt like I need some help implementing it. I stumbled across the Paleo Central app on my phone, and that's how I found Nerd Fitness.  :smile-new:

I joined the Academy and started going through the stuff in there, so I've only recently discovered the REST of Nerd Fitness, lol. So far I've been working on habits...starting small...walking 5-10 minutes every day, drinking no more than 8 oz of coffee a day, and fixing my diet, starting with breakfast. I've done the tutorial workout a couple of times - I'd like to get to where I'm consistently doing that 3-4 times a week with yoga on my off days. (Maybe that's a good goal for my first six-week challenge.) Even with these small changes, I've managed to reversed the trend - I'm no longer gaining weight; instead I've lost 5 lbs!

Ultimately, I want to break the cycle of obesity in my family. (Sadly, I can honestly say that everyone in my immediate family is obese...and so far, I'm following true to form. I'm 42, 4'10" and 160 lbs with hereditary high cholesterol, and recently discovered my blood pressure is dangerously high. But I plan to change most of that in the not-too-distant future!) I want to be a good example to my three girls, and teach them how to stay healthy. I'd also like to a) be around to see them grow up (they range in age from 2 to 11) and B) be able to actively play and keep up with them.