Forums are back in action! ×

Just trying to get my mess together...again

Hi!!  

I'm a 28 year old teacher who has failed on this fitness road about every year since graduating college.  At my worst I was 190.  I'm currently 181, but I can't seen to get any traction due to a few key issues (excuses) that I always fall back on.  I need ya'lls help to keep me honest and help me defeat these obstacles to achieve my fitness/life goals.

1.  I have (diagnosed) ADD and anxiety.  So it creates a pattern of starting something (IIFYM, a project, a gym routine) but not being able to keep up with it on the scale I need to until eventually I just half ass it as I get distracted  or get so anxious about what other people may think, or whether I'm doing the right thing the right way, that I just crawl back inside myself and retreat.  I have an appointment with a doctor to get some medication for the ADD (not my first choice, but my therapist recommended it to help me when I feel I need it, not on a daily basis)

2. My husband's love of fast food.  He did olympic lifting for a long time and his body composition, despite not working out for the last 5 years, is still very different than mine.  He can eat things like Taco Bell or whatever else and it doesn't seem to matter.  And he LIKES to eat that way.  It is just temptation after temptation, and a lot of the time, quick food sounds better than cooking for one.  Meal planning will absolutely be my goal to fix this, and I have started a few time, only to let it lapse.  The saving grace is that neither of us keep junk in the house, so the stuff we are eating when we are home (because I do the shopping) are veggies and fruits and other things like that.