Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings, Salutations and Hellos from Atlanta

Alright so I'm posting here cause well I'm a noob who found Nerd Fitness a month or so ago, and the forum section about twenty minutes after that. A bit about lil'ole me...

I'm a 31yr gamer, photog, engineer as well a husband to my amazing wife and "father" to our two kittens. In early 2010 I weighed in at 300lbs and had borderline high cholesterol - not a the best of combinations for a 30 year old to face. With that wake up call my wife and I started walking and hiking as a way to get in shape. In October 2010 a friend of ours tricked us into signing up for a trail run saying "Its just like hiking". 2 years later my wife and I are running our first half-marathon in less than a week.

Over those two years I've gotten down to 230lbs and have gone from a a 44" waist to a 36" - great results. To get there my wife and I counted calories and run... alot. We presently pound out 25-30 miles a week on any combination of treadmill, trail, and road. I've been sitting at 230lbs for about three months now and am wondering if I need to shift my workout - we've done very little in the way of weight or cross fit until recently when we added in rowing, push ups, sits/crunches and the like. Now I'm reading up on cross fit and interval training which I think is the next step for me.

So that's where I am, presently running like mad and looking to mix things up. Pleasure to meet y'all, hope to see ya around the interwebs sooner or later

For some reason I totally forgot my nerd cred

• Started playing table top role playing games at age 8
  • Still run a game for my friends on occasion we can get together (Deadlands Reloaded is the flavor of the month)
  • I played Warcraft versus my friend over modem
  • I had the Nintendo Power Set growing up
  • Read way too much scifi/fantasy for my own good
  • Have played UO, EQ, WoW, AoC and several other MMOs on and off over the years (off these days)