Forums are back in action! ×

Newbie Nerd Cycling Across the Country!

Hello Rebels!

I stumbled upon NerdFitness just last week and have decided to join.

My Story

My name is James Schwabacher. I'm a freshman at American University in Washington, DC. I don't have athletic abilities, and growing up I would always be more inclined to read a good novel than play kickball in the street. That's just me. However, I've always enjoyed cycling. So, following my bucket-list, I've decided to join 4k for Cancer in riding 4,000 miles across America this summer. The route is 70 days, beginning in Baltimore, MD and ending in Seattle, WA. Every day we ride between 50 and 130 miles, depending on terrain and route. Along the way, the 4k team seeks to raise cancer awareness and perform community service. Each rider must fund-raise a minimum of $4,500.

Alongside the fundraising, packing and planning, I must start training (there's that scary word). I'm pretty skinny, so if anything I need to gain weight while increasing both my strength and endurance.

Since being accepted into the 4k family I have made progress:

1. I'm more aware of how active I am every day

2. I've forced myself to start going to the gym!

3. I'm increasing my fitness knowledge (through websites such as this one)

But I have a loooooooooong way to go...

That's where YOU come in. Any advice? What should my diet consist of? And how would you recommend training for a long cycling Epic Quest?

You Can Help

You can find more information regarding the organization, me, and the trip through my Rider's Blog, my 4k Profile, and my personal site.

I will use my Rider's Blog to share my fundraising, training, and journey. I invite everyone to join me!

If you feel moved to do so, you can show your support by helpign to sponsor more ride, or even join the 4k for Cancer 2012 ride too! Spots for 2012 are still available. You can join here!

I look forward to being apart of Rebellion HQ and the NerdFitness Community :D