Forums are back in action! ×

New to everything, nervous, but willing to give it my best!

That was a cheesy title. But whatever-- Hello! My name is Juno and for the first time in my life I want to make some serious changes and get fit.

(Hopefully I can reign this in so it doesn't go on forever!)

So, a bit of backstory. I've always been overweight. It never particularly bothered me as it didn't hinder me. I used to do a five mile bike ride a day, walk everywhere (usually 4-5 miles each day. I was job hunting on foot), and I worked in my parents commercial cleaning business, wearing a backpack vacuum cleaner and lifting trash bags that were probably heavier than I was.

In the last 2-3 years though, I haven't been doing any of that. I worked very hard to get into a good art school-- I was successful in that I was accepted, but ultimately I couldn't go because I couldn't afford it. So since then I've been entirely self taught. I've been doing pretty awesome with my work, but my body hit a rock bottom around October 2011. In the months leading up to that, I had been feeling increasingly weak, and headachey, and doing something as minor as grocery shopping was taking my breath away. The tipping point was a morning in mid October when I got up, took a shower, and had to sit down halfway through because I felt like my heart was going to burst. I'm only 24 years old by the way. So yeah, yikes. My roomate took me to a clinic, and, while I couldn't afford the testing to tell me what exactly was wrong, they did tell me that I weighed nearly 300 pounds, and my blood pressure was awful.