Forums are back in action! ×

Hi Everyone!  I stumbled across this forum last week and having a bit of a nerdish background (comics, star wars, star trek (original and TNG), anime & manga, Monty Python and a few other things here and there... oh and I'm a Librarian/Archivist) I thought this would be a bit more fun than hanging with the bros over at Bodybuilding.com.  

I've been working out on and off since I was 13, having admired the physiques popularized in the early 1990s Marvel and Image comics.  20 years later and I'm probably the most consistent I've ever been in my lifting.  I prefer going heavy and I have the ultimate goal of hitting a 400lb bench, 500lb squat and a 600lb deadlift.  My current maxes are... close-ish.  I'll probably hit the squat first and the deadlift next.  Bench will happen when it happens!  lol  

I have just started competing in powerlifting and I have been throwing in highland games heavy events since 2010 --  you know, wear a kilt and throw a tree, a rock, a burlap sack full of twine, etc.

Hope to meet some cool folks and get hella inspired!  

Cheers!  

• Like 3
On 8/27/2017 at 1:12 PM, SeanP said:

you know, wear a kilt and throw a tree, a rock, a burlap sack full of twine, etc.

Oh yeah........... we're good. 

Welcome! :D Looking forward to hearing about your training

giphy.gif

5 hours ago, Laghail said:

Hey @SeanP, welcome to the rebellion. Lot of lifting and geek stuff goes down here, you should fit in just fine. What program are you running these days?

Hey!  Thanks for the welcome!  My program is in a state of flux right now.  Looking for a decent peaking schedule that doesn't kill me on volume/nail me on my outrageously disproportionately high Squat 1RM (compared to what I can('t) grind out for reps -- i.e., I can hit 450plus for 1 any day of the week, but struggle to hit 10 reps at 315).