Forums are back in action! ×

Not NERD enough – Wandering the Wasteland

I’m new to the challenge thing and found NF a few months ago while researching Paleo/Primal eating. It’s been a great resource so far but and I joined the challenge/forum to kinda have a way to make myself accountable to something. Now, after a few days of reading the posts, it makes me wonder if I’m in the right place. But, at least I feel like I picked the right name.

I chose madmax79 for two reasons. 1: I love the Mad Max movies. 2: My first Jeep was a 1979 Cherokee Chief that was built from sheer salvage and scrap and painted flat black (it would have fit in the movie perfectly). Now, sitting here reading the fantastic and creative stories and realize that I’m the outsider. Just like Max, a loner.

Back in high school, I would have totally considered myself a “nerdâ€: socially awkward and sheltered by my parents from experiencing the world. But when I went out on my own, I made it a point to live the life that I watched from the window. I got into motorcycles, tattoos, and Jeeps and boats. I traveled extensively and have seen many states, Caribbean islands and a few European and Mid-east countries.  I’ve done epic road trips, camping solo or just finding the first available roach motel.

Along the way, I found a need to express my creative side and got into photography, stained glass and woodworking. I’m also a self-taught mechanic. Since I turned 18, I never have been one to sit still. I’m not into playing video games, getting caught up in TV shows or movies or playing fantasy games. I will admit that since the advent of the DVR, I am addicted to the Walking Dead but I’ve probably only caught four or five episodes when they actually aired.