Forums are back in action! ×

New to Nerd Fitness in Guatemala!

I'm an elementary teacher at an American school in Guatemala City! Guatemala is a lovely country, but it does pose its challenges to a healthy lifestyle, at least for me.

Challenges:

• To stay in shape, I used to walk, run, cylce, hike and generally do things with others that were outside. Guatemala City doesn't really have much public green space for outdoor activity.
  • Crime is a problem and walking/running/biking/hiking around is a problem for a blonde gringa.
  • The main activity among my friends is meeting up at the pub.
  • My boyfriend is a great cook, but his idea of "light" is a steak and potatoes.
  • The local cuisine is quite limited, not a whole lot of variety!

I've become really good at making excuses, however. I did the gym thing for a while and got bored after 3 months. I was in really good shape, but then lost it all and gained weight as I just went back to my old habits.

Guatemala, for all it's faults, does have a lot of opportunity for healthy living and fitness with a little planning and initiative. I can't jump on my bike and bike to work (like I've done in other cities) but...there's other things I can try if I'm a little adventurous.

My long term goals are as follows:

• Lose 10 lbs.
  • Stick to the Paleo diet 80/20
  • Cut out alcohol during the week
  • Do 10 pull-ups in a row
  • Dead lift 150 lbs.
  • Beat someone with the same skill level in a game of tennis.

I just started, and I'm only 3 days in (eek) but I think I have a really solid plan:

Monday: Beginner Body weight Training on my porch - increase reps/weight/circuits over time

Tuesday: Interval training in the gym - increase # intervals over time

Wednesday: More body weight training

Thursday: Yoga class with other teachers/parents at my school

Friday: Intervals

Saturday: Tennis lessons - add in practice days over time