Forums are back in action! ×

Shy nerd would like to say hello

Hello, I'm a new member looking forward to joining the upcoming challenge. I'm not very good at talking to people, but everyone seems really friendly and nice, so I thought I should stop lurking behind my keyboard and join in.  :smile-new:  Let's see, about me. I really like arts and crafts - any kind of fiber art (quilting, crochet, weaving), drawing, etc. I have an unholy number of projects planned or half completed. I also love ballet, hiking and reading. 

My first focus will actually be on fitness and diet. A desk job and really bad eating habits have taken a toll. I've gone from skinny to medium sized (read: put on 20 pounds of fat with no muscle), and my head seems to be in a constant gray fog. My days are spent oozing about like a giant slug instead of doing things I enjoy. I hope that improving my diet and starting to move again will clear my head. Bodyweight or strength training will help me get back on pointe in ballet, and I think tracking hikes for the "walk to Mordor" thing would fun. I'll need a bit of a kick in the pants to get moving - as my brother says, we do our best work when cornered like a rat in a trap and under constant supervision.  :redface:

I got a bit confused reading through all the instructions, but I think my next steps are to sign up somewhere and then create my challenge thread in the Level 1 Rebels? I'm looking forward to joining in and making some new friends!

• Like 1

Aspiring Master Artisan and Ballerina

Welcome! We actually have lot of people around who are into knitting/crochet and have a group set up on Ravelry, though I don't know if it's very active anymore (I like crafting, but rarely make time for it). We -are- generally nice, glad you've stopped lurking!