Forums are back in action! ×

Is it supposed to hurt this much

I'm in a lot of pain and I don't know if it's normal or if I hurt myself I am very new to all this. 

Ok so on Tuesday around noonish I did this warm-up:

jump rope 30 sec;

20 jumping jack;

10 squat;

5/ea lunge;

10 hip extension;

5/ea hip rotation;

10/ea forward leg swing;

10/ea side leg swing;

5 wall push-up;

5/ea spiderman steps

I didn't do anything else other than a cool-down stretch since my starting plan is "get through the warm-up for a week or two and then add an actual routine." I could've definitely done more of some of them and I'm making adjustments for next time but last night and all of today my thighs are absolutely killing me. It hurts to walk, and the movement of getting up, sitting down, or going up or down stairs is causing me pain not dissimilar in severity to the times I broke my arm. I've never exercised before, my previous physical activity has always been DDR and that was YEARS ago so like, is this normal? Did I hurt myself from like idk my form being off or something? My partner says I'm also not eating enough protein and that isn't helping, which is probably true, but still.

芸術ã¯çˆ†ç™ºã !

Goals:

Actually stick to this whole foods diet

Drop ~5% body fat before surgery

If you've never exercised before, then yes this is normal. It will get better and it will get easier. Just keep doing it. For now walking and stretching are probably your best bet. Drinking more water and eating more protein may help too.

“We might as well start where we are, use what we have and do what we can." – Caitlin Rivers

Sloth: The Man with the Hammer battle log

Welcome to DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness). It happens to the best of us when we work out the first time. The best thing to do is just to work out again. It seems counter-intuitive but it works.

Current Challenge

"By the Most-Righteous-and-Blessed Beard of Sir Tanktimus the Encourager!" - Jarl Rurik Harrgath